Various Artists – That’ll Flat…Git It! Vol 46 Chess, Checker & Argo Records – CDD

Band: Various Artists

Label: Bear Family

Format: CDD

Catalogue Number: BCD17684



1-CD Digipak with 36-page booklet, 33 individual tracks. Total playing time approx. 79 min.
*Bear Family Records® presents the 46th edition in its successful ‘That’ll Flat Git It!’ CD series, the second comprehensive and carefully conceived showcase of the rockabilly and R&R recordings of Chess Records and its sub‐labels Checker and Argo.
*Among the best‐known Chess rockers are Dale Hawkins, Bobby Charles and Billy Barrix.
*Our compilation also presents colleagues and bands like Ray Stanley, Bobby Tuggle, The Galaxies and Jackie Cannon ‐ lesser known, but by no means musically weaker!
*Carefully restored and remastered recordings.
*DeLuxe packaging with extensive liner notes by Bill Dahl and detailed discographical information.

As Chicago’s leading independent label for a couple of decades, Chess Records was known for its massive catalogue of blues, R&B, doo‐wop, rock and roll, jazz, and soul hits. Rockabilly and white rock and roll output, not so much. Yet Chess and its subsidiaries Checker and Argo did indeed issue plenty of killer rockers along those lines—as Bear Family’s second excavation of those labels’ vaults attests. Sure, the the better‐known musicians like the prolific Bobby Charles and Dale Hawkins are here. But the emphasis is on more obscure delights by Dick Glasser, Bobby Dean, Bette Laine, and The Galaxies.

There’s a taste of high‐stepping country from Jack Ford, highly infectious southern rock and roll by Steve Alaimo, Rod Bernard, and Freddie Fender, and a wee bit of tough R&B from Bobby Tuggle, Big Al Downing, and Billy Miranda, whose Run Rose gives Little Richard a run in the torrid department. Like its Bear Family predecessor BCD16123 (Vol. 10 in the ‘That’ll Flat…Git It!’ Series) which is also available, this collection should precipitate a reassessment of the mighty Chess Records legacy: it really was a full‐service roots music label. See You Soon Baboon!

Track listing:
01 Four Letter Word (Rock) ‐ Dale Hawkins
02 This Rock And Roll ‐ The Galaxies
03 I Can’t Wait ‐ Ray Stanley
04 Dime Store Pony Tail ‐ Bobby Dean
05 Pardon Mr. Gordon ‐ Rod Bernard
06 Take It Easy Greasy ‐ Bobby Charles
07 What Did He Say ‐ Terry & The Pirates
08 She’s My Baby ‐ Steve Alaimo & The Red Coats
09 Proof Of Your Love ‐ Jackie Cannon
10 Take My Heart ‐ Dale Hawkins
11 You’re Something Else For Me ‐ Freddy Fender
12 Cousin Rockin’ Roll Blues ‐ Tony March
13 That’s All You Gotta Do ‐ Jack Ford
14 Watch It Sprocket ‐ Bobby Charles
15 The $64.000 Question ‐ Bobby Tuggle
16 Cool Off Baby (alt. take) ‐ Billy Barrix
17 Go Mr. Dillon ‐ Bobby Dean
18 Going Back To Memphis ‐ Gene Simmons
19 Talk About The Girl Terry & The Pirates
20 No More (I Ain’t Gonna Leave You No More) ‐ Bobby Charles
21 See You Soon Baboon ‐ Dale Hawkins
22 I Found My Girl ‐ The Kents
23 Make Believe Wedding Bells ‐ Dick Glasser
24 Over A Coke ‐ Ray Stanley
25 6:15 ‐ The Galaxies
26 I Am Ready ‐ Bobby Dean
27 Run Rose ‐ Billy Miranda
28 Rock‐A‐Bye Rock ‐ Bette Laine
29 Good Morning, Little Schoolgirl ‐ Don & Bob
30 The Story Of My Life ‐ Big Al Downing
31 Beautiful Delilah (alt. takes 15/16) ‐ Chuck Berry
32 So Long – Goodbye ‐ J. C. Hill
33 Baby Bye, Bye ‐ Dickie & The Gee’s

GENRE: Vintage Rock N Roll/Rockabilly
BARCODE: 4000127176844