Connie Smith – The Latest Shade Of Blue – CD

Band: Connie Smith

Label: Bear Family Records

Format: CD


Limited and numbered edition of 1,000 copies!
4‐CD box set (LP‐size) with 96‐page hardcover book, 96 tracks. Playing time approx. 5 hrs “No one in the world does a better job of protecting, loving, and preserving music than Bear Family Records. I believe we have over one hundred of their albums, CDs, and boxed sets in our library. Each and every one a treasure. ‘Latest Shade of Blue,’ The Columbia Recordings 1973‐1976 is the third boxed set of my work to be offered by Bear Family. It’s an honor, and just as much an honor to share it with you! Please enjoy”. ‐‐ Connie Smith

*Connie Smith is one of the touchstone figures in Country Music.
*Her complete COLUMBIA recordings from 1973 to 1976.
*9 albums on 4 CDs – from gospel and Christmas songs to classic country and pop.
*The accompanying 96‐page book includes dozens of previously unpublished photos, a detailed discography, session‐by‐session discussion of the making of the records, and an overview of Connie Smith’s life as she balanced session scheduling and Grand Ole Opry and touring performances while being, by this time, an actively involved, dedicated mother of five.
*Introduction by Connie’s husband and musical collaborator Marty Stuart, who has now joined her as an inducted member of the Country Music Hall of Fame. 
*Includes all of the tracks from the second chapter in Connie Smith’s epochal recording career, as she moved to the Columbia Records label from RCA Victor in 1973—and the first reissue of the majority of them.
*Classic, infectious 1970s honky tonk singles such as Ain’t Love a Good Thing, her own co‐write You’ve Got Me Right Where You Want Me and her hit takes on the Everly Brothers’ (Till) I Kissed You and So Sad.
*Dozens of out‐of‐print and long hard‐to‐find recordings, including her, unforgettable Christmas album ‘Joy to the World,’ shaped by her own arrangements of sacred holiday songs, and the singular, history‐making ‘Connie Smith Sings Hank Williams Gospel.’
*Connie Smith’s riveting interpretations of prime era country songs from the pens of Dallas Frazier, Don Gibson, Bill Anderson, Doug Kershaw, Tom T. Hall, Lefty Frizzell, Harlan Howard, Eddie Raven and Jessi Colter.
*Connie’s deep grounding in country gospel music applied to introduction of new songs in the genre by Kris Kristofferson, Dolly Parton, Porter Wagoner, Larry Gatlin and Dottie Rambo, in addition to that full album of eleven Hank Williams gospel songs.
*New exploration of the steel guitar foregrounding ‘Connie Smith sound’ as she performs virtual vocal‐guitar duets with steel heroes Weldon Myrick, Lloyd Green, John Hughey, Jimmy Day, Buddy Emmons and Hal Rugg. 
*Detailed stories of Connie Smith’s close work with Columbia producers Ray Baker and George Richey, as they arrived at the song choices and up‐to‐date, yet traditionalist sounds that brought her through the pop‐centric John Denver‐Olivia Newton John country era with her core classic country attack intact.  Based on extensive new interviews with Connie herself and with producer Baker by the book’s author Barry Mazor.

‘Connie Smith‐ The Latest Shade of Blue,’ is the third in Bear Family’s chronicle of one of country music’s most masterful vocalists in the years that cemented her reputation and renown, following on the two sets covering her previous years at RCA Victor, ‘Born to Sing’ (1964‐1967) and ‘Just For What I Am’ (1968‐1972). When asked to describe country music, Connie Smith’s standard answer is “It’s the cry of the heart.” Her cry of the heart is her singing, and it’s a powerful thing to behold.

GENRE: Country Music
BARCODE: 5397102176098

CD #1
01 Pass Me By (If You’re Only Passing Through)
02 Never Love Again
03 Ain’t Love A Good Thing
04 When You Hurt Me More Than I Love You
05 Love Held On To Me
06 A Picture Of Me (Without You)
07 Let’s All Go Down To The River
08 Too Soon To Know
09 You’ve Got Me (Right Where You Want Me)
10 In The House Where Love Shines
11 Soul Song
12 Jesus
13 Remind Me Dear Lord
14 Why Me
15 The Wonders You Perform
16 The Golden Street Of Glory
17 When I Sing For Him
18 God Is Abundant
19 Help Me
20 The Well Of His Mercy
21 The Baptism Of Jesse Taylor
22 You Can Move That Mountain
23 At The Foot Of The Cross
24 He Did It All For Me
CD #2
01 I Still Feel The Same About You
02 Be All Right In Arkansas
03 Did We Have To Come This Far (To Say Goodbye)
04 Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Ole Oak Tree
05 We’re Gonna Hold On
06 My Uncle Abel
07 Teddy Bear Song
08 Thanks A Lot For Trying Anyway
09 That’s The Way Love Goes
10 Dallas
11 Never Having You
12 Letting Go
13 Sunshine Blue
14 The Key’s In the Mailbox
15 I’ll Still Be Missing You
16 Them Ole Rainy Lovesick Songs (Are Hittin’ Home)
17 I Never Knew (What That Song Meant Before)
18 Is This All You Hear (When A Heart Breaks)
19 I Just Had You On My Mind
20 I Wish We’d All Been Ready
21 Because Of Yesterday
22 I’ve Got My Baby On My Mind
23 Searching (For Someone Like You)
24 Back In The Country
25 I Got A Lot Of Hurtin’ Done Today
26 Loving You (Has Changed My Whole Life)
CD #3
01 A House of Gold
02 I’m Gonna Sing
03 How Can You Refuse Him Now
04 I Saw The Light
05 Are You Walking And A‐Talking For the Lord
06 When The Book Of Life Is Read
07 Jesus Is Calling
08 Jesus Died For Me
09 Calling You
10 A Home In Heaven
11 Jesus Remembered Me
12 Why Don’t You Love Me
13 Ain’t It Good To Be In Love Again
14 You’ll See Jesus
15 Praying Hands
16 One Little Reason
17 Because I Love You That’s Why
18 Viva La Love
19 Nothing In This World
20 The Song We Fell In Love To
21 (‘Till) I Kissed You
22 Jesus Hears, He Cares, He Can
23 Once A Day
24 Ridin’ On A Rainbow
25 When I Need Jesus, He’s There
CD #4
01 I Don’t Wanna Talk It Over Anymore
02 Storms Never Last
03 You Crossed My Mind A Thousand Times Today
04 Love Don’t Care (Where It Grows)
05 Constantly
06 I Wonder If The Angels Could Use Another Singer
07 I’m In The Middle Of A Losin’ Streak
08 Come On Down
09 The Latest Shade Of Blue
10 So Sad (To Watch A Good Love Go Bad)
11 I’m All Wrapped Up In You
12 Go Tell It On The Mountain
13 O Come All Ye Faithful
14 While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks
15 Away In A Manger / Silent Night
16 Sweet Little Jesus Boy
17 Little Drummer Boy
18 O Holy Night
19 The First Noel
20 What Child Is This
21 Joy To The World