Howlin’ Wolf – Boy You Got The Blues Volume 1 -Vinyl

Band: Howlin’ Wolf

Label: Bear Family

Format: Vinyl

Catalogue Number: BAF14031


This 10” vinyl LP contains music that cemented the style of one of the greats of the Mississippi blues and later of Chicago rhythm and blues.

Between May 1951 and early 1953 the Howlin’ Wolf, Chester Burnett, made his first-ever recording sessions. They took place in Tennessee at the Memphis Recording Service, where producer and engineer Sam Phillips was not afraid to take a chance on a singer who was already over forty years old and whose then small claim to fame was a local radio show across the river at KWEM in West Memphis.
In fact, nothing would have stopped Phillips recording the Wolf. Phillips was captivated by his voice. He was the first to hear and understand the man’s potential.

Sam Phillips said that he heard Wolf on the radio and got word to him at KWEM that he would be interested in recording him. He placed him under contract in spring 1951, and sold Wolf’s recordings to Chess Records in Chicago. The first release, How Many More Years, became a national number four R&B chart hit that summer.

Chester Burnett, the Howlin’ Wolf, only recorded in Memphis for two years, but that was time enough for him and his band with the ingenious guitarist Willie Johnson to perfect many of his trademark phrases, howls, rhythms, riffs, and solos. Sam Phillips captured all these moments of creation in the ten tracks in this album (and in ten more in the linked album ‘Boy, You Got More Blues There’ – BAF14032) which remained unissued in Phillips’ tape boxes for over twenty-five years until rediscovered.
So, what you hear in this album is vitally important blues music, and it’s supremely good.

01 (Everybody’s) In The Mood Howlin’ Wolf
02 My Last Affair Howlin’ Wolf
03 Look-A-Here Baby Howlin’ Wolf
04 How Many More Years Howlin’ Wolf
05 Bluebird Blues Howlin’ Wolf
06 Oh Red (take 2) Howlin’ Wolf
07 Chocolate Drop Howlin’ Wolf
08 My Troubles And Me Howlin’ Wolf
09 I Got A Woman / Sweet Woman Howlin’ Wolf
10 California Boogie Howlin’ Wolf

GENRE: Blues
BARCODE: 4000127140319