Orodruin – Epicurean Mass – Vinyl

Band: Orodruin

Label: Cruz Del Sur Music

Format: Vinyl


Orodruin’s 2003 Epicurean Mass debut was a harbinger of things to come. So formidable that it took the band 16 years to release its Ruins of Eternity follow-up, Epicurean Mass paved the way for a resurgence in mournful, riff-laden Black Sabbath and Saint Vitus-styled doom. Doom was taken back to its earnest, dark roots, casting aside the occasional pomp and image-first angle that was emanating across the ocean. Eighteen years after its release, Epicurean Mass is finally getting the vinyl treatment as part of a benefit for stricken Solstice guitarist Rich Walker.

Recorded at The Space Recording Studio in Ontario, New York from May to June 2002, the original Orodruin lineup — Mike Puleo (vocals/bass), Mike Waske (drums), John Gallo (guitar/organ) and Nick Tydelski (guitar) — created eight weathered, churning, ultra-heavy songs that brimmed with atmosphere. In an ode to Epicurean Mass’s many memorable song titles, Gallo remembers the album as being “pierced together by cruel winds of war cries and peasants’ laments, as the mounting feast erupted, we paid our dues to the lords of doom and are forever grateful for the wisdom we gained!” The experience, as Gallo recalls nearly 20 years after the fact, was also “magical and new.”

Epicurean Mass fast-tracked Orodruin onto the global doom scene. The album’s original February 7, 2003 release on PsycheDOOMelic Records was followed by the band’s live debut at their own Born Too Late festival that also featured the likes of Penance, Revelation, While Heaven Wept, Pale Divine, The Gates of Slumber, Unearthly Trance and Soulpreacher. A United States tour with The Prophecy and Mourning Beloveth followed, and, in 2004, Orodruin made their first European trek in support of Penance.

The vinyl re-release of Epicurean Mass holds a special distinction for Gallo and his bandmates. Rich Walker was one of the band’s staunchest supporters — going out of his way to name-drop Orodruin whenever he could. This is a very limited re-release — doom-mongers old and new would be wise to not let this one slip by!

1. The Welcoming
2. Peasants Lament
3. Melancholia
4. Pierced By Cruel Winds
5. Unspeakable Truth
6. Burn The Witch
7. War Cry
8. Epicurean Mass

GENRE: Epic Doom Metal
BARCODE: 8032622215977