Sunset Love + Inner Sanctum – Psychedelic Moods, Part Two – CD


Band: Sunset Love + Inner Sanctum

Label: Cicadelic

Format: ‌CD

Catalogue Number: CICD976


SUNSET LOVE + INNER SANCTUM “Psychedelic Moods, Part Two”
Had Sunset Love released their album in the 60’s, there is no doubt it would have been an instant classic. In the fall of 1968, thirteen original songs and two covers were recorded by Sunset Love for a potential album, but nothing was ever released. Sunset Love’s lush harmonies, soaring vocals, superior song writing, and flower power consciousness pervaded their songs with a depth and quality unheard of from most 60s’ bands. While their sound can be compared to such bands as The Mamas and The Papas, The Peanut Butter Conspiracy, Spanky and Our Gang, and The Love Exchange, Sunset Love had their own inimitable style that transcended a generic stereotype. The Sunset Love tapes are sourced from the original stereo versions and reveal the great harmonies and surrealistic lyrics of an undeservedly overlooked and forgotten band from the late 60’s.

After releasing the “Psychedelic Moods” album, in October of 1966, Mark Barkan (The Deep, the Banana Splits) envisioned another psychedelic album for his next release. It was to be performed by a Greenwich Village band called Inner Sanctum. The theme of the album was to be a psychedelic journey into the various psyches of the mind. The trip started with a journey into the past (The House Of Yesterday) then covered the inner workings of the mind (ID) then the descent into madness (Hydro Pyro) hallucination (Purple Floating) and finally culminating in nirvana (Snow Petals). Unfortunately, Barkan was unable to find a record company willing to lease the masters and so they languished for decades unreleased. Now, at long last the masters for this aborted album are mixed from the original four track tapes and forty plus years later the psychedelic sounds of “Inner Sanctum” are now ready, willing, and able to blow your mind.

1 Change
2 Tribute To Kay
3 Run To The Sun
4 Reach Out
5 Little Children
6 Winter’s Day
7 Sunset Love
8 Green Hippie
9 World Of Pain
10 A Man In The Park
11 Father Paul
12 I Will
13 Wheels
14 Push
15 Innocence Dies Young On Our Street

16 The House Of Yesterday
17 Id
18 Hydro Pyro
19 Purple Floating
20 Snow Petals
21 Little Tin Soldier
22 The Man Who Shot Your Mother

GENRE: Psychedelic Rock
BARCODE: 619981313421
RELEASE DATE: 28/06/2024

Additional information

Weight 0.250 kg