Vince Taylor – Brand New Cadillac: The Brits Are Rocking, Vol.8 – CD

Band: Vince Taylor

Label: Bear Family

Format: CD


Like almost no other contemporary, Vince Taylor embodies the early heyday of British rock ‘n’ roll. Borrowing from the sound and stage show of his great idol Gene Vincent, he began copying U.S. originals in the late 1950s. But he took the next step and recorded immortal classics like Brand New Cadilac and later Jet Black Machine.

Vince Taylor’s myth is based on his wild, ecstatic live performances, which in those late fifties days must have eclipsed anything seen or heard up to that time. Like no other, he brought the energy and charisma of his idols like Elvis Presley or Gene Vincent to the stage. Dressed in leather gear, he raged across the stage, accompanied by his Playboys, the perfect backing band for him. They pushed him with their hard sound and brought the auditorium to a boil!

Some see him as a forefather of punk ‐ but for sure, the rocker, who was popular and successful not only in Great Britain but also in France and Benelux, was one of the wildest guys of his time.  Amazingly, Vince Taylor has managed to reproduce the power of his live shows in the studio. We wish you a good time with the great legend of British rock, Vince Taylor!

01 Brand New Cadillac
02 Long Tall Sally
03 Rocky Road Blues
04 What’cha Gonna Do
05 I Like Love
06 Sweet Little Sixteen
07 Endless Sleep
08 Baby Let’s Play House
09 Jet Black Machine
10 Shaking All Over
11 Ready Teddy
12 Move Over Tiger
13 So Glad You’re Mine
14 Lovin’ Up A Storm
15 My Babe
16 Right Behind You Baby
17 Twenty Flight Rock
18 Blue Jean Bop
19 I’ll Be Your Hero
20 C’mon Everybody
21 Don’t Leave Me Now
22 Mean Woman Blues
23 B. B. Baby (Big Blond Baby)
24 There’s A Lot Of Twistin’ Goin’ On
25 Love Me
26 Rip It Up
27 Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
28 Mimi
29 Peppermint Twist ‐part I
30 Peppermint Twist ‐part II
31 Pledging My Love
32 Don’t Ever Let Me Go

GENRE: Rock’n’roll
BARCODE: 4000127176493