Devenial Verdict – Ash Blind – CDD

Band: Devenial Verdict

Label: Transcending Obscurity Records

Format: CDD


Finnish death metal band Devenial Verdict bring a fresh approach to the style, particularly with their dissonant leanings. Where most such bands sound jarring and convoluted, Devenial Verdict are unusually expansive and atmospheric, and even allow for plaintive emotions to linger on. Intense parts accentuated by singularly powerful vocals are contrasted against the deeply immersive atmosphere where the emotive melodies shimmer starkly. It’s this alternating of seemingly conflicting yet familiar emotions that breaks down the listener and compels him to give in to the sheer evocative appeal of the music which only tightens its grip as the album unfolds.

Each song adds a different shade, nuance, character to the momentum generated and compels him to bear witness to this phenomenon. Repeated exposure to it doesn’t diminish its impact nor its appeal, which only attests to the band’s commendable songwriting skills that keep the music varied enough to be engrossing but also cohesive enough to not digress. Albums like these don’t come very often and when they do, they change the scope of the style.

1. Hope 07:34
2. Pravum 06:55
3. Ash Blind 05:38
4. Sun Hammer 04:36
5. Mourning Star 03:07
6. The Contemptor 03:51
7. Inanition 04:48
8. World Breaker 07:46

GENRE: Death Metal
BARCODE: 0612789663774