In Aevum Agere – Emperor Of Hell – Canto Xxxiv – CD

Band: In Aevum Agere

Label: Metal On Metal Records

Format: CD


Two and a half years after their last album, IN AEVUM AGERE’s third full-length sees the light of day. “Emperor of Hell – Canto XXXIV”, like its predecessor, is inspired by and lyrically based on Dante’s “Divina Commedia”, not surprisingly again the “Inferno” part of this opus, which offers a wealth of grim and allegorical imagery. The horror of death and hell is almost palpable here. The album is full of sophisticated melodies, doom-laden heavy and powerful riffs, desperate sounding, soulful vocals, with a few dramatic narrations, and you will find both melancholy and aggression in these songs.

It’s as epic as it gets, but what sets these Italians apart from other epic doom and in general doom metal bands is the intense guitar shredding, as well as the riffing and the powerhouse double bass drumming that sometimes sound almost like thrash metal. If you’re into bands like CANDLEMASS, SOLITUDE AETURNUS, SORCERER, MEMENTO MORI, FORSAKEN, EVANGELIST, THUNDERSTORM, PROCESSION and CRYPT SERMON, do not hesitate to add this album to your collection!

GENRE: Metal/Epic Doom Metal
BARCODE: 8022167091013

1. Emperor of Hell
2. Intro
3. The City of Dis
4. Malebolge
5. In Phlegethon
6. Chiron
7. Sorrowful Goodbye
8. Allegorical Images (Universal Destiny)
9. The Straight Path Was Lost
Total running time: 48:10