Mortification – Triumph Of Mercy/Live 1998 – CD

Band: Mortification

Label: Soundmass

Format: CD

Category: Tags: , ,


Mortification are the undisputed pioneers of Christian death/thrash metal and Australia’s most successful metal band. With releases on label giants like Nuclear Blast and Metal Blade, albums like “Scrolls Of The Megilloth” and “Post Momentary Affliction” which are considered classics, world tours and a sound that is constantly being reinvented, Mortification is a band that cannot be put in a box.

This 1998 album, their 7th studio recording, was originally released in unison between Nuclear Blast (Europe), Metal Blade (USA) and bassist Steve Rowe’s own label, Rowe Productions (Australia). Following in the footsteps of 1996’s EnVision EvAngelene, Triumph Of Mercy continues with their innovative hybrid of classic metal and thrash, with a hint of death metal. Everything is as it should be – Steve’s out-front bass interludes, Lincoln’s cool guitar solos, tempo changes galore, catchy melodies and well-structured songs. Lyrically, having almost lost his life to leukaemia and starting to write songs from his hospital bed, Steve sings about his miraculous recovery. For added value, we’ve also included 8 bonus tracks – 3 demos and 5 previously unreleased live tracks recorded during European tours.

Live 1998 is a quality sound-board recording from Mortification’s Triumph Of Mercy US Tour that has never been released before. Fans of the band will love the intimacy of this live album, with Steve’s crowd interaction and characteristic storytelling, along with a few musical surprises. Remastered and with the glorious original artwork and a dual-cover, all-new layout, this 2-disc edition is a must for fans of this pioneering Aussie band and any true metal enthusiast.

DISC 1: Triumph Of Mercy
1. At War With War
2. Triumph Of Mercy
3. Welcome To The Palodrome
4. From Your Side
5. Influence
6. Drain Dweller
7. Raw Is The Stonewood Temple
8. Unified Truth
9. Visited By An Angel

Bonus Tracks
10. At War With War (1997 Demo)
11. Visited By An Angel (1997 Demo)
12. Unified Truth (1997 Demo)
13. At War With War (Live 2001)
14. Influence (Live 1999)
15. Drum Solo (Live 1999)
16. Visited By An Angel (Live 1999)
17. From Your Side (Live 1999)

DISC 2: Live 1998
1. Unified Truth
2. At War With War
3. Peace In The Galaxy
4. Mephibosheth
5. Drum Solo
6. Steve Talks 1
7. From Your Side
8. Welcome to the Palodrome
9. Influence
10. Steve Talks 2
11. Medley

GENRE: Thrash/Heavy
BARCODE: 0728488043493