Ray Vernon – All Wrays Lead To Rock- The Link Wray Connection – CDD

Band: Ray Vernon

Label: Bear Family Records

Format: CDD


1‐CD Digipak with 28‐page booklet, 34 individual tracks, playing time approx. 78:30 min.

*Ray Vernon ‐ Bear Family dedicates a complete CD album to Link Wray’s big brother for the first time!
*Really everyone who is interested in rock guitarists knows Link Wray ‐ see Bear Family BCD17600.
*Ray Vernon was a talented singer and producer, his career closely linked to that of his guitar‐playing brother.
*In the 1960s, he produced numerous recordings on the U.S. East Coast by his brother Link and by rockabilly star Marvin Rainwater, The Dial Tones, The British Walkers, The Moon Men, The Wray Brothers and Ray Men.
*Carefully researched liner notes by Bill Dahl in the illustrated booklet and sensitively restored recordings.

Serious talent ran in the Wray family. We all know the mighty Link Wray, king of the power chord and as bone‐crushing a rock guitarist as ever came down the pike. But we all owe a debt of gratitude to his big brother, who went by the handle of Ray Vernon. Not only was Ray a talented vocalist who briefly tried to gain traction as a ’50s teen idol on Philly’s Cameo label, he guided Link’s career during the ’60s and produced classic 45s on his sibling as well as the considerably less familiar artists featured on Bear Family’s ‘All Wrays Lead To Rock,’ a 34‐song extravaganza spotlighting Vernon’s prodigious studio skills.

Working out of Washington, D.C. and then a basement studio in Accokeek, Maryland, Ray Vernon helmed gems by The Dial Tones, The British Walkers, The Moon Men, The Wray Brothers and Ray Men (naturally), even rockabilly hero Marvin Rainwater. Perhaps Ray’s crowning achievement (other than producing some of Link’s greatest instrumentals) were the six crunching sides he cut on R&B vocalist Bunker Hill (actually lapsed gospel singer David Walker), including the thundering two‐part 1962 hit Hide & Go Seek—and they’re all aboard this collection (as are some of Ray’s own fine vocal efforts). Nail down your furniture‐‐The Wray brothers are here to shake the foundations of your domicile!

Track listing:
01 Hold It ‐ Ray Vernon & The Raymen
02 Teenage Cutie ‐ Lucky Wray with Link & Doug Wray
03 My Sugar Plum ‐ Ray Vernon
04 Vendetta ‐ Ray Vernon
05 I’ll Be So Good To You ‐ Link Wray feat. Ray Vernon
06 Danger One Way Love ‐ Ray Vernon
07 Window Shopping ‐ Link Wray feat. Ray Vernon
08 Evil Angel ‐ Ray Vernon
09 Baby What’cha Want Me ‐ The Ray Men
10 Big City After Dark ‐ Ray Vernon & The Ray Men
11 Pretty Blue Eyes ‐ Ray Vernon
12 The Freeze ‐ Link Wray feat. Ray Vernon
13 I’ll Be So Good To You ‐ Ray Vernon
14 Roughshod ‐ Ray Vernon
15 I’ll Take Tomorrow Today ‐ Ray Vernon
16 Flirty Baby ‐ The Wraymen
17 The Girl Can’t Dance ‐ Bunker Hill
18 Walkin’ Down The Street Called Love ‐ The Ray Men
19 Bad Lightin’ ‐ The British Walkers
20 Boo Hoo ‐ Marvin Rainwater
21 Hide And Go Seek ‐parts I and II ‐ Bunker Hill
22 The Other Side Of The Moon ‐ The Moon Men
23 You’re Sweeter Than Sugar The Wray Brothers
24 Red Ridin’ Hood And The Wolf ‐ Bunker Hill
25 I Can’t Forget ‐ Marvin Rainwater
26 Chicago Bird ‐ The Dial Tones
27 Some Kind Of Nut ‐ The Moon Men
28 Watch Yourself ‐ The British Walkers
29 You Can’t Make Me Doubt My Baby ‐ Bunker Hill
30 Ninety‐Nine Years To Go ‐ The Wray Brothers
31 I’m Countin’ On You ‐ Ray Vernon
32 Tough Top Cat Marvin Rainwater
33 So Young ‐ The Dial Tones
34 Nobody Knows ‐ Bunker Hill

GENRE: Rock N Roll
BARCODE: 5397102175176