Tommy Sands – A Big Date With Tommy Sands, The Drugstore’s Rockin’ – CD

Band: Tommy Sands

Label: Bear Family

Format: CD


1‐CD (Digipak) with 36‐page booklet, 36 tracks, total playing time approx. 79 min.

Capitol Records was in the enviable position of having two challengers to Elvis’ regal status in 1957: Gene Vincent, who may have appeared just a little too threatening for full‐on mainstream embrace in the states, and the more clean‐cut Tommy Sands. He was no mere teenage idol; Tommy really did possess the vocal chops to convincingly rock, as he proves throughout this jam‐packed compilation.

Although it seemed that Sands burst upon the scene like a hydrogen bomb with his early 1957 smash Teen‐Age Crush, he’d actually been recording since 1951, initially as a pubescent country singer in Houston, before he and his mom moved to Los Angeles to properly break into show biz. Tommy’s records actually got tougher as time went on; his incredible ’58 album ‘Sands Storm!’ rocked like crazy (his cover of The Clovers’ Hey, Miss Fanny sported a jaw‐dropping guitar solo that was likely the work of Joe Maphis).

Once he hooked up with The Raiders who later became The Sharks and led by guitarist Scotty Turner, Sands really got down to rocking business on Blue Ribbon Baby, The Worrying Kind, and Wicked, Wicked Woman. You won’t find any of Sands’ sedate pop crooning on this collection—it’s non‐stop rocking from first track to last with the exception of Teen‐Age Crush and three great mid‐tempo songs!

Track listing:
01 Is It Ever Gonna Happen
02 Ring My Phone
03 The Worryin’ Kind
04 Maybelline
05 Every Little Once In A While
06 Blue Ribbon Baby
07 Hearts Of Stone
08 Hey Miss Fannie
09 Playin’ The Field
10 The Chicken And The Hawk
11 Man Like Wow!
12 Wicked Woman
13 Soda Pop Pop
14 Ring‐A‐Ding‐A‐Ding
15 Oop Shoop
16 Big Date
17 I Ain’t Gettin’ Rid Of You
18 Gonna Get A Girl
19 The Old Oaken Bucket
20 One Day Later
21 Tweedle Dee
22 Bigger Than Texas
23 Can’t Change My Love
24 Should I
25 A Bundle Of Dreams
26 Hawaiian Rock
27 Your Daddy Wants To Do Right
28 Little Mama
29 Goin’ Steady
30 Teenage Doll
31 Rock Light
32 Who Baby
33 Honey Love
34 Doctor Heartache
35 I Love You Because
36 Teen‐Age Crush

GENRE: Vintage Rock’n’roll/ Rockabilly/Popular/Teen
BARCODE: 5397102175435