Various Artists – Shotgun Boogie – Rhythm & Blues Goes Country Vol. 1 – CDD


Band: Various Artists

Label: Bear Family

Format: CDD

Catalogue Number: BCD17701


1-CD (Digipak) with 36-page booklet
Even casual music fans recognize the seismic impact rhythm and blues made on country music during the mid-1950s as a new generation of performers embraced rockabilly. Yet a reverse effect could also be evident, dating all the way back to the postwar era. After all, a great song was a great song, whether Wynonie Harris was belting Louis Innis‘ Good Morning Judge and Hank Penny’s Bloodshot Eyes or The Griffin Brothers, Fat Man Robinson, and Sonny Knight were individually latching on to one Hank Williams classic or another to give them a snazzy R&B spin.

That’s the premise behind Bear Family’s 29-song ‘Shotgun Boogie – Rhythm & Blues Goes Country Vol. 1,‘ as both B.B. King and The Platters give Tennessee Ernie Ford’s immortal smash Sixteen Tons contrasting readings that songwriter Merle Travis could never have envisioned, while the lusty Bull Moose Jackson unfurls his deep-toned pipes on three country classics from his deep catalog at King Records. Who would have ever expected Scatman Crothers, Smiley Lewis, and Joe Liggins to traffic in hillbilly covers, much less Lonnie ‘Guitar Jr.‘ Brooks or boogie pianist Cecil Gant? But they’re all here, eloquently illustrating the inexorable connection between R&B and C&W – albeit in the reverse direction from what the history books preach!

Wynonie Harris: Good Morning Judge Cootie Williams (vocal: Eddie Mack): Shot Gun Boogie Bull Moose Jackson: Why Don’t You Haul Off And Love Me The Crows: No Help Wanted Tommy Edwards: Don’t Fence Me In The Griffin Brothers feat. Margie Day: It’d Surprise You Scatman Crothers: Ghost Riders In The Sky Smiley Lewis: Big Mamou Sonny Knight: Lovesick Blues Lucky Millinder and His Orchestra: Chew Tobacco Rag The Platters: Sixteen Tons Piano Red: It Makes No Difference Now
Joey Thomas: Cherokee Boogie (Eh-Oh-Aleena) The Orioles: Crying In The Chapel Wynonie Harris: Bloodshot Eyes Joe Liggins and his Honeydrippers: Rag Mop Bull Moose Jackson: If You Ain’t Lovin’ (You Ain’t Livin’) Pearl Reaves and ‘The Concords’: You Can’t Stay Here (Step It Up And Go) Cootie Williams (vocal: Eddie Mack): Divorce Me C.O.D. Blues Earl Hooker: Steel Guitar Rag Fat Man Robinson Quintet: My Bucket’s Got A Hole In It Hal Singer and His Orchestra: Indian Love Call Guitar Jr.: Pick Me Up On Your Way Down The Hurricanes: Pistol Packin’ Mama The Griffin Brothers: Move It On Over
Bob Gaddy and His Alley Cats: No Help Wanted B. B. King: 16 Tons Moose Jackson: Cherokee Boogie (Eh-Oh-Aleena) Cecil Gant: Shot Gun Boogie

GENRE: Rhythm & Blues
BARCODE: 4000127177018
RELEASE DATE: 22/03/2024

Additional information

Weight 0.250 kg