Various Artists – Three O’clock Merrian Webster Time: Texas Psychedelic Bands (1966-68) – CD

Band: Various Artists

Label: Cicadelic

Format: ‌CD

Catalogue Number: CICD982


If the 13th Floor Elevators were the epitome of what a Texas psychedelic band was, then the groups on this album were not far behind in trying to emulate that state of existence. Here then are twenty-two tracks compiling the changes that occurred from late 1966 to 1968, when the Texas bands went metaphorically speaking from “Kool-Aid” to “Electric Kool-Aid Acid”. By the time 1966 ended, many of the groups in Texas that started out playing British Invasion and folk-rock music, were now immersing themselves in the newly emerging psychedelic music.

The five groups that comprise this album reflect the changes that occurred during this period and four of them even changed their names to sound more psychedelic. The Nomads became Smoke, Carrols Mood became The Sights And Sounds, The New Imperials became The Front Page News, and The Boys became The Remaining Few. Represented by twelve tracks on this album, The Nomads/Smoke, started out playing folkrock music, but by 1967 went psychedelic — as witnessed by their “freak-out” version of
“My Little Red Book” replete with backwards tapes. Carrols Mood went from singing ballads to surreal songs such as ‘Mystical Bells’ The Front Page News went from the soul of “Baby Let Me Bang Your Box” to the fuzz drenched “Thoughts and Afterthoughts”.

1 Carrols Mood – What You’re Doing To Me
2 Carrols Mood – Out She Goes
3 The Nomads – I’ll Be There
4 The Nomads – I Walk Alone
5 The Front Page News – Thoughts
6 The Nomads – My Little Red Book
7 The Nomads – Situations
8 The Nomads – Three O’Clock Merrian Webster Time
9 The Rebellers – The New Generation
10 The Smoke – Mainstream
11 The Smoke – Church House Blues
12 The Remaining Few – Painted Air
13 The Remaining Few – In The Morning
14 The Sight And Sounds – Mystical Bells
15 The Sight And Sounds – You Keep Me Hangin’ On
16 Carrols Mood – I Walk Alone
17 The Nomads – Three O’Clock Merrian Webster Time (Take 1)
18 The Nomads – Three O’Clock Merrian Webster Time (Take 2)
19 The Nomads – Three O’Clock Merrian Webster Time (Take 3)
20 The Nomads – Three O’Clock Merrian Webster Time (Take 4)
21 The Nomads – My Little Red Book (Alternate Mix)
22 The Sight And Sounds – Out She Goes

GENRE: Garage Rock/Psychedelic Rock
BARCODE: 619981327121
RELEASE DATE: 28/06/2024