West End – A Merry West End Christmas – CD

Band: West End

Label: Spare Time Records

Format: CD


So we will leave it to Spare Time Music Director Bobby Ogdin (and the arranger on this
wonderful album) to provide the liner notes:

“The musicians I called upon to play the various featured instruments on the Christmas album are all professional recording musicians who have performed on countless Christmas albums for major recording artists. I have found that, for the most part, those albums often have such lavish and intricate arrangements that, while making the artist sound terrific, often overshadow the song itself, or lose its spirit and emotion (and this is understandable when the artist is the feature of an album). “We determined, however, that by not having a vocalist, we could more closely reflect the nature of each song itself, albeit without any lyrics. “Once I determined the general approach for each song, and had created a basic musical track, I called on some of my closest musician friends to participate and bring the tracks to life with their talents — sometimes a simple ukelele rhythm, sometimes a lovely melody, etc. These additional recording sessions were like social events, as we all clearly enjoy being in the recording studio together. “I think the results demonstrate our musical respect, and our affection for each Christmas song, and also for each other.”  And that pretty much encompasses how we like to work at Spare Time Records, from inception to recording, through mixing and mastering. Oh yeah — the elves have left the building. Merry Christmas.
— Kirk Beasley

Track Listing
1. The Christmas Song
2. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
3. O Come, All Ye Faithful
4. Silver Bells
5. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
6. Here Comes Santa Claus
7. Hark! the Herald Angels Sing
8. Blue Christmas
9. O Holy Night
10. Mele Kalikimaka
11. Silent Night
12. White Christmas
13. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

GENRE: Christmas
BARCODE: 860003443774