Bobby Vee Suzie Baby – The Drugstore’s Rockin’ – CDD

Band: Bobby Vee Suzie Baby

Label: Bear Family Records

Format: CDD


1‐CD (Digipak) with 32‐page booklet, 35 tracks. Total playing time approx. 79 min.

Our Bobby Vee retrospective focuses on the teen idol’s Rock ‘n’ Roll years (1959 ‐ 1962) ‐ and Vee could rock, and how!
Bobby Vee’s career began in the wake of arguably the greatest tragedy in rock ‘n’ roll history: on Feb. 3, 1959, Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens and the Big Bopper ‐ on tour as the ‘Winter Dance Party’ ‐ were killed in an accident, and Bobby Vee, only 15 years old, stepped in as a replacement at the Moorhead show!
The young, successful producer Snuff Garnett saw great potential in Vee’s Buddy Holly‐inspired style, and with the string sound favored by Holly, made him a teenage superstar in pop as well.
Liner notes by Bill Dahl; many little‐known photos and illustrations in the extensive booklet and carefully mastered recordings.
Bobby Vee was born Robert Thomas Velline in 1943 in Fargo, North Dakota. In stark contrast to the Coen brothers’ gritty 1995 ‘Fargo’ film drama, Bobby Vee’s Rock ‘n’ Roll exudes the feel of teenage youth in those days.
Not only was Bobby Vee a genuine teen idol during the early 1960s with a string of lighthearted smashes to his credit, he also knew how to rock, his strong Buddy Holly influence never far from the surface. Vee’s entry in Bear Family’s ‘The Drugstore’s Rockin’’ series, spanning 1959‐1962, contains his debut single, Suzie Baby, through his first major hits for Los Angeles‐based Liberty Records, Devil Or Angel and Rubber Ball, and the violin‐enriched blockbusters Take Good Care Of My Baby and The Night Has A Thousand Eyes. But Bobby refused to abandon his ‘50s rock and roll roots—witness the five tracks culled from his splendid ‘Bobby Vee Meets The Crickets’ album with ex‐Holly sideman Tommy Allsup on lead guitar.
Nearly everything here was produced by Texas native Snuff Garrett, perhaps the youngest A&R man around then and one of the most successful. Garrett was a huge fan of Holly’s mature strings‐drenched approach and introduced it to Liberty. Bobby Vee rode that delightfully lavish sound to full‐fledged teen superstardom.

Track listing:
01 Take Good Care Of My Baby
02 Radio Spot
03 Someday (When I’m Gone From You)
04 In My Baby’s Eyes
05 Little Star
06 Devil Or Angel
07 The Night Has A Thousand Eyes
08 Punish Her
09 Tears On My Pillow
10 Suzie Baby
11 School Days
12 Walkin’ With My Angel
13 I Gotta Know
14 Will Yuo Love Me Tomorrow
15 Rubber Ball
16 You Better Move On
17 Sharing You
18 Raining In My Heart
19 Diana
20 Lookin’ For Love
21 More Than I Can Say
22 Summertime Blues
23 Flyin’ High
24 Susie‐Q
25 When You’re In Love
26 Run To Him
27 Girl Of My Best Friend
28 Please Don’t Ask About Barbara
29 Sixteen Candles
30 What Do You Want
31 Stayin’ In
32 Little Queenie
33 I Can’t say Goodbye
34 Pledging My Love
35 One Last Kiss

GENRE: Rock N Roll/Teen Pop
BARCODE: 5397102175732