Marcel Riesco – Patiently – Vinyl

Band: Marcel Riesco

Label: Bear Family

Format: Vinyl


Marcel Riesco’s brandnew Bear Family album, ‘Patiently’, further proves the point: Marcel’s velvet vocals paired with grand studio production reminiscing to the big Nashville Sound is a winning combination! If we had to describe his music, it would be pure 1950s rock and roll with a touch of 1960s honky-tonk. And naturally, we cannot overlook the unmistakable Roy Orbison feel he carries out so well.

Marcel’s voice is often compared to a young Roy Orbison, but he has his own style and that is very clear. He is also a mean guitar player and that further helps and solidifies his rockin’ style. His songs are unique, with delicious melodies and intricate arrangements. Marcel explains: “I learned how to sing with Roy Orbison songs. He has been my teacher, so naturally the influence is there. I don’t try though, it just comes out that way.” Incidentally, his role model is Roy Orbison … Like in a good David Lynch film, Marcel dares to break into the mere surface and digs deeper, exploring all possibilities and taking his music farther, to a special place. “I sing directly to whoever might be listening, and I think they can feel this,” Marcel explains. This makes his music magical and unique. 

Marcel’s new album, his first for Bear Family Records®, was recorded primarily at Jack Clement’s Cowboy Arms Studio in Nashville, TN. Clement was a producer at Sam Phillips’ Sun Studio, and the first record he worked on was Roy Orbison’s Rockhouse. “I decided to go to Jack Clement’s studio because I thought it was the only place where I could get the sound I wanted, played the way I wanted, and recorded the way I wanted. I didn’t want anything to go missing.”

The CD and digital editions feature 9 originals songs and 5 covers. The 10” LP contains 10 tracks. “I always choose songs that are close to my heart. If it’s an original, I work on it for months even after it’s written, to make sure it lingers. As for the covers, I really have to feel the song. In other words, it has to touch me a certain way, and I have to make it my own before I give it a go. We have included an Orbison-penned title called ‘You’ve Got Love,’ which both Buddy Holly and Johnny Wilson covered. I think my version came out much more rockin’ though.”

Marcel and the guys recorded 12 songs in 2 days. It was all played and sung live. We got some of Nashville’s top working musicians, who graciously rendered their service: Andy Gibson plays steel guitar, Dennis Crouch plays stand-up bass, Gabe Tonon plays guitar, Walter Hartman plays drums, Cody Campbell plays piano, Isabella Brown sings harmony and backing vocals.

Tracklisting 10” vinyl LP:
01 Patiently
02 Stranded In Dallas
03 Honey Kiss
04 You’ve Got Love
05 Sands Of Gold
06 First Date
07 You Know It’s True
08 Broken Hearted
09 Trying To Forget
10 Another Country Song

Tracklisting bonus CD:
01 Patiently
02 Stranded In Dallas
03 Honey Kiss
04 You’ve Got Love
05 Sands Of Gold
06 Broken Hearted
07 What I Feel In My Heart
08 First Date
09 How Do You Pretend
10 Mister Bartender
11 You’ve Got Everything
12 You Know It’s True
13 Trying To Forget
14 Another Country Song

GENRE: Rockabilly
BARCODE: 4000127140265