Name Sayers – Joyboys In The Grindhouse – Vinyl


Band: Name Sayers

Label: Lion Productions

Format: Vinyl

Catalogue Number: NS001


Triumphant pop evolution of Austin dark-art-rockers Name Sayers. Guests include Wayne Kramer of The MC5 and rappers Chris Conde and E-Turn.

“Where Devin James Fry’s sprawling former outfit Salesman offered snapshots of a gently psychedelic Americana that seemed to blur at the edges, Name Sayers snaps into focus, wrapping tight, darkly offbeat pop arrangements around unlikely hooks” Austin dark-art-rockers, Name Sayers make a triumphant return! The album marks a pop evolution for the band, incorporating elements of psychedelic rock, hip hop, synth pop, and cumbia, and featuring guest appearances from guitarist Wayne Kramer of The MC5, Brooklyn rapper Chris Conde, and Orlando rapper E-Turn.

The album was produced by Grammy nominee Grant Eppley (Spoon) and mastered by Calbi/Fallone at Sterling Sound. “We made some brutal pop songs,” says Fry, “and celebrated everyone’s creative input along the way. Joyboys dips in and out of sonic worlds while still being very much a Name Sayers
joint.” The taut lyrics of Joyboys In The Grindhouse touch on sex, psychonautic tour experiences, self-medication for social anxiety, and the resiliency which can result from sustained political resistance.
The album’s title nods to both a wry sense of camp that imbues the project and to Fry’s hands-on profession as a surgical instrument sharpener. Fully 49 songs were written, demoed, and culled to the 11 that constitute Joyboys. “In making a record, as in sharpening,” says Fry, “you grind away what you don’t need.”

Name Sayers has a history of organizing, producing, and promoting successful destination shows, including supporting the Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy and Matt Sweeney collaboration, Superwolves, in the towering main chamber of Longhorn Caverns, and the Black Angels’ Alex Maas, in the picturesque desolation of a Texas ghost town.

Track listing:
Side A
1. We Multiply
2. Receiving Evil
3. Lioness
4. Reaper
5. Standing Wave

Side B
1. Gravedancer (ft. Chris Conde)
2. Gravedancing Again
3. Three Will Grow Back (ft. Wayne Kramer, Chris Conde, and E-Turn)
4. Other Lives
5. 2 Go Missing
6. The Oblivion Seed

GENRE: Gothic Psychedelic Rock/Americana/Austin Texas
BARCODE: 198015849797

Additional information

Weight 0.999 kg