Various Artists – Meet Me At The Candy Store: 31 Sweets For The Dentist’s Joy – CD

Band: Various Artists

Label: Bear Family

Format: CD


1‐CD with 16‐page booklet, 31 tracks. Total playing time approx. 76 min.
* Sweets are the everyday little pleasures ‐ this loving compilation is the nostalgic soundtrack to go with them. Let’s meet at the Candy Store!
* We don’t just have plain chocolate in our program, we carry all kinds of chocolate variations.
* With 31 tracks from 1950 ‐ 1964 we have assembled the sweets of a musically highly lively time!
* Primarily you can hear Rock ‘n’ Roll with plenty of Doo‐Wop ingredients, including recordings that are quite rare nowadays and appear here on CD for the first time!
* The package is rounded off with the occasional country, pop, mambo and swing!
* Musical candy for everyday ears, not only for collectors!
* The 16‐page color booklet contains notes by producer Marc Mittelacher on each track and many photos and illustrations, some of which are rare.

Candy Store
Who still remembers the famous scene in a Pippi Longstocking movie, when the children pressed their noses flat against the window of the candy store and Pippi subsequently bought the store empty and distributed candy canes, sweets, and chocolate. We also remember it from our own childhood and youth, a candy store has always been a meeting place, whether in Europe or the United States. Like all large and small topics of everyday life, this subject is also well documented musically, and we have picked out the musical raisins and summarized them in this collection!

Sweets For My Sweet
Sweets For My Sweet is probably the best‐known song in this compilation, here in the original version by the Drifters (most listeners will be familiar with the Searchers’ version). In addition to a host of little‐known artists who nevertheless sound like hit‐makers, we have top names of music history like The Ames Brothers with a swing boogie, an early recording by Buddy Greco, a mambo by Frank Virtue, a rare LP track by the Crew Cuts and last but not least the rare stereo version of the McGuire Sisters’ Sugartime Twist! Appearing here for the first time on CD are the title track Meet Me At The Candy Store by The Chesterfields and rare numbers by The Val‐Chords, Johnny Redd, Judy Valentine, Ricky & The Vacels, Ronnie Diamond and many more!

Along with plenty of rock ‘n’ roll smashes, we deliver country sounds from Dick Curless as The Trail Riders, Canadian singer Kidd Baker, Charlie Walker and Eddie Miller. Plus some Latin/Mambo from Chuck Cabot and Tito Rodriguez and vintage pop from Nat Russell from Denmark, Alan Copeland, Larry Dean with the Lennon Sisters, Lola Ameche etc. The compilation closes with the absolute classic that everyone knows from Sesame Street, here in the original version! The CD comes with a 16‐page booklet in color with background information on each song, compiled and written by Marc Mittelacher, as well as many partly rare photos and illustrations!

01 Meet Me At The Candy Store ‐ The Chesterfields
02 Candy Store Blues ‐ The Capers
03 Candy Store Love ‐ The Val‐Chords
04 Bubble Gum ‐ Johnny Redd
05 Gum Drop ‐ Judy Valentine
06 Chocolata ‐ Nat Russell
07 Bubble Gum (Twist) ‐ Ricky & The Vacels
08 Candy Store Blues ‐ The Casual Three
09 Candy Bar Boogie ‐ The Ames Brothers
10 Patty Cake Man ‐ Eddie Miller & His Band
11 Big Rock Candy Mountain ‐ Kidd Baker
12 Jelly Do‐Nuts ‐ The Trail Riders
13 The Chocolate Song ‐ Charlie Walker
14 Bon Bons, Chocolates And Chewing Gum ‐ Buddy Greco & His Quintet
15 Rock Candy Baby ‐ Allan Copeland & The Hotrodders
16 I Hate But I Like Popcorn ‐ Big Bill Schaeffer
17 Cotton Candy ‐ Frank Virtuoso Quintette
18 Chocolate Cha Cha ‐ Chuck Cabot & His Orchestra
19 Cara‐Caramel Choco‐Chocolate ‐ Tito Rodriguez
20 Sticky Apple And Bubble Gum ‐ Lola Ameche
21 Candy Store ‐ Ronnie Diamond
22 The Patty Cake ‐ Mamie Bradley
23 Candy ‐ The Crew Cuts
24 Bubblegum ‐ Larry Dean & The Sisters
25 Strawberry Shortcake ‐ Sugar & Spice
26 Cherry Chocolate Twist ‐ The Drifters
27 Candy Bar Twist ‐ The Candymen
28 Jam & Jelly ‐ The Col‐Lee‐Jets
29 Maple Syrup ‐ The Kresents
30 Sugartime Twist (stereo version) ‐ The McGuire Sisters
31 If I Knew You Were Comin’ I’d’ve Baked A Cake ‐ Art Mooney & His Orchestra,
Vocal by Betty Harris

GENRE: Rock N Roll/Pop
BARCODE: 4000127176592