Derharms – Neun Schone Lieder – CD

Band: Derharms

Label: Sireena Records

Format: CD

Category: Tags: , ,


People know Hauke Harms as founding member and driving force behind the cult band “Girls Under Glass”. Also in the previous band “Calling Dead Red Roses”, DerHarms was holding the electronic reins.
Despite his extensive band activities, he has always had the desire to publish a solo project under his artist’s name “DerHarms”. However, the first attempt in 1994 resulted in a successful collaboration with GUG companion Volker Zacharias under the name TRAUMA. This liaison resulted in 3 albums. But the second attempt a few years later finally brought out the first album “Music4Cars” under the name “DerHarms” in 2011. This album has so far only appeared in digital form on BandCamp and the usual platforms.

After a very intense year 2020, the new album “Neun Schöne Lieder” is now available, which has been produced at periodic intervals since 2016 in the home studio in the countryside in the beautiful Seevetal in North Germany as well as in California (USA). The result is a successful blend of gloomy dark wave elements, technoid components and a romantic Krautrock feeling, which certainly owes its brightest moments to the California sun, whereby the original influences of bands like CLUSTER, early KRAFTWERK or NEU with their repetitive sound works predominate. “DerHarms” attaches great importance to the fact that a large part of the sounds were created with his museum-like touchable electronic musical instruments and not primarily in the depths of the computer world of virtual instruments. Haptics and atmosphere clearly took precedence over contemporary studio economy in production.

Also a certain relationship to the recently released “Fingerhut” double album of the ERMES|HARMS project, which he initiated together with his long-time companion Axel Ermes, cannot be kept secret, but Hauke Harms relies on the experimental approach on “Neun Schöne Lieder” and gives the creative result a lot more structure in the form of a lovely compositional corset, which was also responsible for the title of the album.

1 – Sunburst
2 – Die Hälfte von Ja
3 – The Ghost
4 – Winterreise
5 – Wellenklang
6 – Blues 2.0
7 – Sure
8 – Carpet
9 – Wunderbar

GENRE: Krautrock/Electronic/Dark Wave
BARCODE: 4260182982204