Tibet – Tibet – CD

Band: Tibet

Label: Sireena Records

Format: CD

Category: Tags: , ,


Finally back on CD with 2 Bonus tracks! TIBET! Jürgen Krutzsch formed German band TIBET in 1972,
having been inspired by the Eastern experimentation of groups such as the BEATLES and THIRD EAR
BAND. Krutszch had spent the latter part of the sixties in cover bands (FINE ART, NOSTRADAMUS),
and was interested in putting together a group that played native Tibetan instruments such as the tabla, violin, zither, and flute. He quickly abandoned this idea after recruiting former band mates Karl-Heinz Hamann (FINE ART, TESKE) and Dieter Kumpakischkis (NOSTRADAMUS), as well as drummer Fred Teske and vocalist Kalus Werthmann, but the band did retain a certain pseudo-mystic feel to their music during their nine year existence.

The band toured extensively throughout the seventies, opening occasionally for fellow countrymen and
friends of the band KRAAN, but managed to release only a single album, their self-titled 1979 studio
release. The tracks for the debut album were recorded in three separate sessions dating from December 1976 to September 1978, The band`s sound was a complex fusion of astral rock, jazz, classical music and Tibetan sounds, heavily keyboard-driven (Hammond, mellotron) and compared to the likes of ELOY, AMENOPHIS, and even URIAH HEEP, although most of their studio release consists of tracks that are similar in style but more reserved than any of those bands. Lyrics (when present) were primarily in sung English, but the band was known to play longer instrumentals in concert, and three such tracks appear on their studio release.

Having failed to make a commercial impression with their one record, TIBET decided to call it quits and
disbanded following their final concert appearance on March 22, 1980.

01 Fight Back 5:00
02 City by the Sea 4:27
03 White Ships and Icebergs 6:18
04 Seaside Evening 4:16
05 Take what’s yours 7:27
06 Eagles 6:08
07 No more Time 5:31
Bonus tracks
08 Too lazy 4:26
09 Never be the same 5:19

GENRE: Krautrock/Prog Rock/Art Rock
BARCODE: 4260182982266