Mosaic – Secret Ambrosian Fire – Limited Hotfoil Embossed CDD

Band: Mosaic

Label: Eisenwald

Format: CDD

Category: Tags: , ,


2nd pressing, now as ‘black on black’ digipak with hotfoil embossing!

SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE – the invocation of a new, old world. With their debut full-length album, MOSAIC explore the sacred traditions of their Thuringian homelands, reinvigorating myths and legends which are as ancient as the mountains they stem from. SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE draws heavily on the traditional lore of the Hörselberge, a mountain chain situated in the most mystical of all German regions. Legend has it that this is the place where purgatory is located and where Mother Hulda leads the wild hunt through stormy winter nights. To the initiated, the weeds and flowers growing in these mountains can even be the key to the otherworld. MOSAIC use this fiery, flowery lore to forge an aural bond between this world and the world of our forebears, while at the same time transitioning into a wholly new phase of their creative endeavours. MOSAIC feed the SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE with their love of poetry, weaving their own interpretations of works by poets such as Georg Trakl, Else Lasker-Schüler and Paul Celan, as well as more regionally known artists like Hanns Cibulka, into their songs.

Widely known for their daring, shapeshifting approach to creating music, MOSAIC now go a step further to create an album that is ultimately uncompromising. Reduced song structures leave space for the atmosphere to unfold, and every single song is allowed to bloom in its unique manner. MOSAIC invited several highly distinguished guest artists to contribute to and make their own mark on this inimitable record. SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE is an offering of experimental ambient soundscapes, traditional motifs and bewitching incantations, shaken by eruptions of masterfullly crafted black metal. To put it into one word: SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE is SUPREME THURINGIAN FOLKLORE. All music was mixed and mastered at Klangschmiede Studio E by Markus Stock (Empyrium, Sun of the Sleepless).

1. Am Teufelsacker (5:55)
2. Brimstone Blossoms (3:43)
3. Cloven Fires (3:28)
4. She-Water (5:11)
5. Ambrosia XIX (5:34)
6. Wetterdistel (4:44)
7. Coal Black Salt (4:15)
8. The Devil‘s Place (10:17)
9. Im Kohlensud (5:24)

GENRE: Darkmetal/Avantgarde/Folk
BARCODE: 4260393744530