Omega – Working – CD

Band: Omega

Label: Sireena Records

Format: CD

Category: Tags: , ,


OMEGA from Hungaria was formed in 1962 and has been described as the most successful Hungarian rock band in history. They have released more than 20 albums both in Hungarian and English. After several early personnel changes, their classic lineup came together in 1971 and was intact for more than forty years. Singer János Kóbor has been with the band continuously since 1962; keyboardist/singer László Benkő was present from 1962 until his death in 2020; while guitarist György Molnár and drummer Ferenc Debreczeni joined in 1967 and 1971 respectively. Bassist Tamás Mihály was a member of the band from 1967 to 2017. They have won several prestigious awards for their contributions to Hungarian culture.

OMEGA was not only very successful behind the Iron Curtain but also had a large following in the West at that time, as they recorded their albums in English for the international market, especially in the 1970s. “Time Robber”, “The Hall Of Floaters In The Sky” and “Gammapolis” are classics of progressive rock today, all of them were created under the direction of Peter Hauke in Frankfurt / Main. It was also Hauke who brought the band back into the studio in 1981 to record another English-language album called “Working”. The album consisted mainly of tracks from the Hungarian album “Az arc”, which was made in the same year. The songs were translated into English with the help of Tony Carey. Another masterpiece came about with “Working”, as well as OMEGA`s last English-language album up to 1996.

01 Nasca
02 Love Games
03 Inside Outside
04 Laughing On The Inside
05 Working
06 Intermezzo
07 Rocket
08 Hostage I
09 Something`s Goin` On
10 Thinkin‘ Of You
11 Machines
12 So Long
13 Hostage II

GENRE: Prog Rock/Art Rock
BARCODE: 4260182982242